Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 9th, 2010


Carl's Lilacs 2009.

Over the past couple of weeks I have reduced the volume of my posts and as a result I have had substantially fewer hits, comments and emails. The biggest reason is that we have had some really great weather and I have been spending less time indoors in front of the computer. Also, due to my appendix I became a bit behind in my study of Italian language and needed to spend time catching up. Last but not least, I think, the program in NYC is coming to a close. We are studying desserts and of course dessert is the last course of a good meal.

A very important person in my life who died quite a few years ago said many times “What’s the one bad thing about a good meal? It ruins your appetite!”  Those are words I heard many times growing up from my Grandfather Carl Vahl, after many, many, many good meals that our family enjoyed together. Before immigrating from Sweden in 1928 Carl Vahl’s name was Karl Wall. The folks at Ellis were in such a hurry that the correct spelling was lost in the translation. Anyway, take a look at a few bits of Vahl family history that I have uncovered during the past few years. It is amazing that these documents exist after all this time and even though I have the originals, digital technology will allow this information to last literally forever.

Look in the upper right hand corner. This was a 3rd class ticket.

Karl Wall's Swedish Passport.

Photo page.

Here this blog is dedicated to and due to Carl Vahl making the decision to make a big change in  his life. People have told me many times how brave I am to take such a risk. Such a big change is so risky. And at my age. So much to loose? Changing career, learning another language, traveling to a far away foreign country!

Well let me tell you compared to the risks and chances and changes taken in the past by almost all American’s ancestors be they Swedish, Italian, Polish, Irish etc. the change I am making is really a walk in the park. Actually, Central Park located in the greatest city in the world where about 82 years ago another Karl Wall landed after making the biggest change in his life. And the rest is history.

What is the one thing that never changes? That everything is always changing whether we like it or desire it or not.  Change isn’t a risk or a chance or even something to be worried about. Change is going to happen whether we want it to or not so we all better hold on to our hats and enjoy the journey.

So I am off for a walk in Central Park. I will take the elevator from the 5th floor or my Manhattan Condo to the 1st floor. Walk East on West 47th Street to Broadway or maybe Fifth Avenue or perhaps I will venture all the way to Park Avenue. Turn North and I will be literally taking a walk in the park.

Read Full Post »


Ouch!

Read Full Post »